Skip to main content


Tentative schedule
Our tentative schedule is now available here. Dear participants, please let us know if you have any remarks or concerns.

If you're not a speaker, but would like to attend, please register by November 15 here.

The conference will take place in rooms C212-C213 in the Faculty of Social Science Building

Invited speakers will be staying in Hotel Olivia. Other participants are welcome to make their own reservations if they wish to stay there. If you contact the hotel telling them you're attending a University of Gdansk CoPSFaM conference, they will give you 15% discount for stay of up to 2 nights and 20% discount for longer stays. Otherwise, there  are a few hotels and hostels available nearby.

Conference description
Conference for Philosophy of Science and Formal Methods in Philosophy (CoPS-FaM-19) of the Polish Association for Logic and Philosophy of Science will take place on December 4-6, 2019 at the University of Gdansk (and will be organized in cooperation with the University of Warsaw). The conference will feature invited and contributed talks falling in one of the following sections:

1. Mathematical Logic
2. Philosophy of Mathematics & Philosophy of Science
3. Philosophical Logic
4. Formal Philosophy (including formal epistemology, formal ethics, and applications of formal methods to philosophical issues in general etc.)

Keynote speakers
Hitoshi Omori (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
Oystein Linnebo (University of Oslo)
Miriam Schoenfield (MIT)
Stanislav Speranski (St. Petersburg State University)
Katya Tentori (University of Trento)

Programme Committee 
Patrick Blackburn (University of Roskilde)
Cezary Cieśliński (University of Warsaw)
Matteo Colombo (Tilburg University)
Juliusz Doboszewski (Harvard University)
David Fernandez Duque (Ghent University)
Benjamin Eva (University of Konstanz)
Benedict Eastaugh (LMU Munich)
Federico Faroldi (Ghent University)
Michał Tomasz Godziszewski (University of Warsaw)
Valentin Goranko (Stockholm University)

Rafał Gruszczyński (Nicolaus Copernicus University, Toruń)
Alexandre Guay (University of Louvain)
Zalan Gyenis (Jagiellonian University, Kraków)
Ronnie Hermens (Utrecht University)
Leon Horsten (University of Bristol)
Johannes Korbmacher (Utrecht University)
Louwe B. Kuijer (University of Liverpool)
Juergen Landes (LMU Munich)
Marianna Antonnutti Marfori (LMU Munich)
Frederik Van De Putte (Ghent University)
Jan-Willem Romeijn (University of Groningen)
Sonja Smets (University of Amsterdam)
Anthia Solaki (University of Amsterdam)
Jan Sprenger (University of Turin)
Stanislav Speranski (St. Petersburg State University)
Tom F. Sterkenburg (LMU Munich)
Johannes Stern (University of Bristol)
Allard Tamminga (University of Groningen)
Mariusz Urbański (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań)
Erik Weber (Ghent University)
Leszek Wroński (Jagiellonian University, Kraków)

Local Organizing Committee
Rafal Urbaniak

Patryk Dziurosz-Serafinowicz
Pavel Janda
Pawel Pawlowski

Weronika Majek
Przemek Przepiórka
Małgorzata Stefaniak

The visits of keynote speakers are funded by The National Science Centre, through two research project grants (PIs: Rafal Urbaniak & Cezary Cieslinski), the Institute of Philosophy, Sociology and Journalism at the University of Gdansk, and the Institute of Philosophy at the University of Warsaw.